Wp~group

One Comment Too Many?

Posted on: April 11, 2009

  1. Hi there,

    I’m a newbie on wordpress.com and can’t figure out why the date of my latest post isn’t showing on the main page? I’ve added the calender but it doesn’t seem to be showing which date the page was published?

    My blog is http://www.mayellaboo.wordpress.com

    Thanks!

  2. You have set your main landing page as a static page instead of the standard blog page which shows your posts. Pages are for static material that seldom changes, and that is why dates or times are not shown on pages. Posts will show dates, but I am unaware of any themes here that show times on posts.

    Just in case you unfamiliar with the differences between posts and pages I’m including the following link to a support document that explains the difference: http://support.wordpress.com/post-vs-page/

  3. Thanks for your help.

  4. You’re welcome.

  5. The Thirteen Theme shows the time of a post.

  6. jalexartis
    Typo alert:
    but I am unaware of any themes here that show times on posts.
    should read:
    but I am unaware of any themes here that show times on pages.

  7. Kubrick shows dates and times of posts and comments.

  8. No dates or time on pages, though.

  9. Seems rossfromwash’s got a thing with comments: more than half of his forum posts today refer to comments in response to questions that have nothing to do with comments.

    For the record, the posting time is displayed in 23 themes. Kubrick is not one of them.

  10. Makes sense because his blog is mostly comments.

    Panos,
    You should have a blog with all these interesting tidbits you pop up with!

  11. (Crossed my mind…)

  12. That’s great!

  13. Well, I guess i’ll leave to help forum to you experts. You seem to be doing a fine job. You’ve helped me so much I dont even feel the need to post in this forum anymore. Its kind of like someone asks you if the sky is blue, you run outside look and come back and say, no its grey today. Thanks so much!!
    By the way, I do know the difference between posts, pages and comments. But if you think about it, you can work around the limitations and manage to achieve the effect you want, even if its not what the terminology you are using seems to suggest you would like to do.
    Instead of saying constantly, you cant do this and you cant do that, how about saying, “you can do this to achieve the desired effect”.

    Example:
    Q: …can’t figure out why the date of my latest post isn’t showing on the main page?

    Then after explaining why it is not showing…..

    A: You could work around that problem by manually typeing in the date and time on the “page” or “post”.

    Yes i’m off topic, thanks for the reminder. Have fun “helping” people.

  14. Door, ass, you know how it works.

    I know friends of yours who worked for Obama. They say you’re a total pain in the ass and they can’t take you anywhere, because you’re not properly socialized.

    Welcome.

  15. wow. raincoaster,

    did I miss something?

    There are annoying people sometimes, but usually you are so polite. Some of annoying folk annoy even me and this one seems to be saying good-bye…

  16. Oh, this dude has blown a lot of hot air and acted like a know-it all while giving the wrong answers from day one, so I’ve had my eye on him. It takes a lot to make my radar, but he did it. He’s an ass.

    And what I said his cohorts said about him? Is absolutely true. That’s what they said.

  17. ok.
    I did answer the fellow on this forum,and thought he was not understanding basic concepts of life, well blogging…
    Some folk go their own way.
    Thoreau and different drummers

  18. I honestly think he does NOT understand the basic concepts.

  19. When did you become such an asshole Lorraine? You honestly do NOT understand the basic concepts. In fact your prolific garbage is only rivaled by your OWN hot air. We are all tired of hearing it.

  20. Ah, the old “the lurkers are with me.” I haven’t seen it in so long I thought it had retired.

    If you can look up my real name, Ross, you have perhaps also realized that I live in a different country. If I’ve heard this, many MANY people have heard this. And they’ve just seen this, too.

1 Response to "One Comment Too Many?"

If you check his forum profile, you’ll see what I mean:

http://en.forums.wordpress.com/profile/rossfromwash

Actually, I’ve a pretty good idea that wasn’t him who posted the comeback (egotists defending themselves usually do it under their own name) but I see no reason not to allow that comment to make things worse for him rather than better, and give that person some second thoughts about doing it again.

Leave a Reply

